In the first place, the term education possibly has different meanings. For some people it could be related with a ladder because of the fact that you will be allowed to rise in different aspects such as intellectual, professional and personal. But for others the relation is simple, they think in a puddle[1], a little step forward in their career. So obviously there are s lot of different meanings, but most of the students don’t recognize the value of getting an education.

At this point, when I think of getting my education I truly worry for all obstacles involved. Some of them are the cost, corruption, work, transportation, the availability of courses and many others. First of all, I need to establish my goal, wich in my case is to be an emergency room doctor, but in the meantime I have to get through all the puddles that come along all the road. The first step is not being a layback student, if you are going to memorize course material go ahead do it, but be sure to apply it in other courses and most of all in your daily life. We need to be capable to get through analytical thinking for the most important thing is to be able to apply it when we need it. Not every professor or instructor evaluates the student to see if the student memorizes the definitions, even though it should be very important to have such as evaluation so that the professor could see if the student is applying the definition in a situation. We, as students should be able to do that process when we are not being layback. Another example is what would you do after you get your degree? How would you use it? If you weren’t a layback student, believe me you should be capable to apply every single detail that you have learned through all your degree.

Furthermore, as a student you need to do a rigorous research about your future career. Some of the key words to do this searching are the requisites, cost, time, voluntary job if it applies, the revalidation and others. Most of the careers or professions requires a good academic average approximately 3.50, it depends on what you will study.  In my case getting an education means to have a good academic average, that is a step in the ladder that is very hard to stay in. Obviously, there will be professors that will help me get through some puddles and I will have to make it. If not other students will make it and I don’t want to be left behind. In that last situation I think that the only way to learn is to get through that puddle. You as anyone will not receive what you desire[2] if you don’t get dirty. You need to be sure to do the rigorous research and include the part of getting dirty, getting your education.

In the meantime, I recognize that I’m not an optimistic person and I know I’m not the only one, but I also have to say that we need to start being optimistic persons. This compliment is required in every person’s life, specifically in every student. The majority of the time we focus in all the puddles that we think is unachievable. It could happen for many reasons, maybe your effort wasn’t enough to achieve that goal. My point is that those puddles are the ones that teach you to grow as a person, student and professionally. Those puddles are the ones that gets you dirty, the ones that gives you an education.

As a consequence of my point of view, I see getting my education as a ladder to get my dream job while I get through all the puddles. As long as we keep our minds in those steps to get a good education we should be able to reach our goals. And remember, as Steve Jobs[3] said: “Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish.[4]In other words, it means to never be satisfied, to always push yourself to your max, to be the best and be ready to try new experiences.

 

 

[1] Puddle: Is a small pool, such as one that forms on a sidewalk after a rain shower.

[2] Desire: Is an inclination to want things.

[3] Steve Jobs: He was born on February 24, 1955 and died on October 5 2011. He also was the co-founder and executive officer of Apple Inc.

[4] Foolish: Is lacking good sense or judgement.

 

[1] Puddle: Is a small pool, such as one that forms on a sidewalk after a rain shower.

[2] Desire: Is an inclination to want things.

[3] Steve Jobs: He was born on February 24, 1955 and died on October 5 2011. He also was the co-founder and executive officer of Apple Inc.

[4] Foolish: Is lacking good sense or judgement.

 

 

REFERENCES

Editors, Biography.com. The Biography.com website. http://www.biography.com/people/steve-jobs-9354805 (Accessed August 17, 2016).

English Language Smart Words. http://www.smart-words.org/linking-words/transition-words.html (Accessed August 17, 2016).

Vocabulary.com.  https://www.vocabulary.com/dictionary/puddle (Accessed August 17, 2016).

